Via Ferrata Ivano Dibona – The Dolomites, Italy

In the Dolomites…

It’s been nearly two and a half months since returning from my first (and hopefully not last!) trip to Italy, but I thought I’d share some photos from an extraordinary hike I was fortunate enough to be able to enjoy in the magnificent-beyond-words Dolomites this past September.  I traveled to northern Italy at the generous invitation of my friend Paolo, whom Samantha and I stayed with at his family home in the resort town of Cortina d’Ampezzo.  There were nine of us staying there in all, but I couldn’t convince any of the others to do the Via Ferrata Ivano Dibona with me.  So, hiring a guide recommended by Paolo, I went alone.  The service I used was Guide Alpine di Cortina d’Ampezzo, and my guide was Andrea Piccoliori, whom I ended up having all to myself as no one else signed up with him that day.  Andrea was fantastic, and I recommend him highly if ever you find yourself in need of a mountain guide in the Dolomites!  All I had to bring with me were sufficient clothes, food, and sturdy shoes with good tread.  The equipment was provided by the guide.

There is no technical climbing involved in this hike, and I did not find it to be nearly as daunting as some of the photos I saw beforehand suggested.  That said, I’m glad I had a guide with me who knew the route as well as Andrea did.  It’s perfectly doable as long as you don’t have a significant fear of heights and are in decent physical shape.  The long, steep downhill stretches on scree were, in my opinion, the hardest part.  There is a total elevation loss of approximately 5,000 feet – which is nothing to sneeze at -but the views and exhilaration factor make it well worth it.  The whole hike from start to finish took about six hours and forty minutes, including a lunch stop and ample time for photo taking (the scenery was so breathtaking that I was unusually snap-happy in an effort to capture it to whatever degree I could).

One of the most striking things about the route is the abundance of World War I artifacts left in place along the way, everything from bullet shells to remnants of wartime housing.  Trying to imagine the horrors that soldiers endured amidst such stunning natural beauty was a paradox that proved a bit much for my brain, so I surrendered to the beauty more often than not.

You can pause the slideshow below at any time by moving the cursor into the frame and clicking on the “pause” button in between the arrow buttons at the bottom.  The arrow buttons allow you to scroll through in either direction at your own pace.  Captions are available on some photos – click on the bubble icon (second from the left) – green turns them on, white turns them off):

This entry was posted in Hiking, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Via Ferrata Ivano Dibona – The Dolomites, Italy

  1. I will be going in June! This gave me a great idea as to what to expect. Thank you! Any other advice you can give will be great!:D

    • Eric Teplitz says:

      The Dolomites are truly spectacular. One other hike I highly recommend if you will be in/near Cortina is the hike from the Passo Tre Croci road pass to Rifugio Vandelli. Be sure not to miss the stunningly beautiful Lago di Sorapiss (Lake Sorapiss), just past the Rifugio. I’m convinced that you pretty much can’t go wrong, though, whatever and wherever you decide to explore up there. I only wish I had spent more time and gone on more hikes. Have a wonderful trip!!!

  2. Pingback: Eight Days in Peru | Eric's Inspired Living Blog

  3. Pingback: What Do You Want To Be When You Grow Up? (Part Nine) | Eric's Inspired Living Blog

Leave a Reply

